Skip to content

Spinach-Tofu Quiche Two Ways

August 24, 2014

Tofu Quiche

My mother has this amazing skill of concocting delicious, seemingly complicated recipes that are surprisingly simple to make. One of my favorites was a spinach-tofu “quiche” (I realize I don’t eat the major ingredients involved in quiche) that I made throughout college. But when I stopped eating eggs, the recipe kind of fell apart—literally. I’ve been missing it for the past four years, but recently I discovered two great recipes: one is reminiscent of my mother’s version, and a second uses many of the same ingredients but has a totally different taste and texture. 

One Way

The first is inspired by a recipe on Oh She Glows, a blog that friends have been encouraging me to check out for a while and which this recipe has convinced me to check out more regularly. You’ll notice my photo looks a bit different than hers, mostly because I decided (in this iteration) to not blend the tofu in a food processor and instead to just let it crumble, the way my mom does. Both ways are delicious and you should try both to see which you like best. I also used the same crust for both, not the somewhat complicated/gluten-free one in this recipe. 

Second Way

The second is from another new favorite, Sunday Morning Banana Pancake, where I basically did the opposite: I blended the tofu instead of crumbling it. But again, you can (and should!) try it both ways. This has become a family favorite, especially for my sister, my favorite co-chef. 

Spinach-Tofu Quiche First Way (filling)

1 tbs sunflower oil
1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced 
3 (or more!) garlic cloves, minced
6 medium mushrooms, thinly sliced
5 fresh chives, finely chopped
5 oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
handful of basil, sliced
2 tbs nutritional yeast
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1 cup baby spinach
1 block firm tofu, drained and crumbled 
Salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350. In a frying pan with the 1 tbs sunflower oil, sauté the yellow onion for about 10 minutes. Add in the garlic and mushroom, sauté for another minute or two. Next add in the chives, tomatoes, and basil along with the nutritional yeast, oregano, and red pepper flakes. Finally add the spinach and sauté until the leaves are completely wilted. Turn off the heat and mix in the tofu. Salt to taste. Place the filling in the pie crust and bake for 20 minutes (longer if you haven’t precooked the crust). 

Spinach-Tofu Quiche Second Way (filling and topping) 

1 block firm tofu, drained
1 tsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp sea salt
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1 clove of garlic
1 cup fresh baby spinach leaves
3 tbs olive oil
 
1 small red onion, thinly sliced
6 shiitake mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 red pepper, thinly sliced
1 tbs sunflower oil
 
Preheat oven to 350. Combine the first half of the ingredients (tofu through olive oil) in a food processor and pulse until as smooth as you’d like. (I went extra smooth in this version, but you can opt for a bit less.) In a frying pan with the 1 tbs sunflower oil, sauté the red onion for 10 minutes. Add the mushrooms and red pepper and continue sautéing till desired consistency. Place the filling and then the topping in the pie crust and bake for 20 minutes (longer if you haven’t precooked the crust). 
 
CRUST
 
I’m a big believer that people should constantly be experimenting with pie crust, which I realize is slightly absurd. I recently brought the first version of this quiche to a friend’s potluck and a few people asked for the recipe, specifically the crust, which I no longer really remembered how i made. I think it was a version of the recipe used in Sunday Morning Banana Pancake. I used whole wheat flower in the version in these photos, but that was just because that was all I had left. You should feel free to use white flour. You can also, of course, buy a premade crust. 
 
Crust (one option)
 
1 cup flour
6 tbs Earth Balance (or other vegan butter or 2-3 tbs vegetable oil)
1 tbs maple syrup
1 tsp salt
1/4 cup cold water
 
Mix the Earth Balance into the 1 cup flour 1 tbs at a time (you may decide to use less) until the flour is crumbly, it will not get doughy. Add in the maple syrup and salt and a little bit of water at a time (you my not use all the water either) until the dough is soft enough to work with. Knead until you’re ready to press into your pie pan and voila! Bake for 10 minutes before adding your ingredients. 

 IMG_8904

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

