Skip to content

Banana Marble Cake

March 10, 2012

Growing up, my family wasn’t so into dessert. Maybe we were and I’m rewriting history, but there are only a few baked goods I remember my mom preparing and therefore remember helping her prepare (or the smell on Friday afternoons in the mad rush up to Shabbat). Number one at the Krule/Fader residence was mandel bread. Let’s just get this out of the way, I don’t care what your Baubie says, my mom makes the best mandel bread. Alas, it’s not vegan, but one day I will vegan-ify it. Next, on Shmini Atzeret (not Shavuot for some reason) my mom made these two AMAZING cheesecakes (also not vegan) one had a ricotta base and the other was heavily chocolate. To this day (or I guess till the day I stopped eating dairy) every other cheese cake just never really tasted like cheese cake should. I think all lists like this should really only have three entries, so I’m going to skip over the apple cake that my mom made for my brother because I’ve never been fond of baked apples and go straight to marble cake.

I can’t really explain why, but for some reason marble cake was always the biggest treat in my mind. It was the most artistic of all the baked goods because of the mysterious swirl that for some reason exceeded my imagination (it’s actually fairly simple technique that’s exceptionally fun to execute) and everyone knows two flavors are better than one. My mother’s marble cake didn’t have a banana base, but when I saw this recipe in Post Punk Kitchen, I knew I had to give it a shot. In addition to my fondness of marble cakes, in high school I was the girl who made yogurt-banana cake birthday cakes and single-handedly converted an entire grade into banana-cake eating party-goers. I decided to bake these in three small tins, but it works just as well in one large one. Again, the shape is funny to me, but makes for easy slicing. If you want to get a bit more chocolaty, you can try throwing in a few chocolate chips.

Banana Marble Cake

2 medium ripe bananas, mashed
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbs canola oil
1/3 cup almond milk
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
3 tbs cocoa powder
9 tbs boiling water, divided

Preheat oven to 350.

Mash the banana in a medium-sized bowl. Beat in the sugar, canola oil, almond milk, and vanilla.

Mix in the flour, baking soda, and salt–but don’t overmix.

Scoop about one cup of the batter into a separate mixing bowl. Now, in a small bowl mix the cocoa powder with 6 tbs boiling water and stir until the chocolate is dissolved (or looks like the photo below). Add this chocolate mixture to the one cup of banana and mix until it’s chocolaty good (or looks like the photo below).

In the plain banana mixture bowl add 3 tbs of boiling water and mix the batter until incorporated.

Now my favorite part: marbling! (But first you should probably spray/grease your loaf pan/s.) Scoop alternate 1/2 cupfuls of chocolate/banana batter into the loaf pan. Or just make sure to have both of them in each pan.

Once all of the batter is in, take a knife and swirl it like so:

Bake for 40 minutes. Use a toothpick to test for doneness. Let cool on a cooling rack and enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    March 10, 2012 10:07 pm

    We used to bake together! What about those dozens upon dozens of cookies we used to bake?!?
    But I do agree love Imms mandel bread and chocolate cheesecake. My freshman year she baked an entire one for me… It was amazing!

    • March 11, 2012 3:03 am

      This is true. We did love to make chocolate-chip cookies and recently have started to experiment more, but for the most part, when I think of childhood desserts, these are the ones that come to mind!

  2. Shannon McCarthy permalink
    August 15, 2012 5:01 pm

    This chocolate banana cake was delicious. Made it for my husband this past weekend and between him and my grand-kids, it was gone in no time flat. Thanks for sharing.
    – Shannon, the Crumb Cake Queen

Leave a Reply

