Skip to content

Chocolate-Pumpkin Cake

December 30, 2011

This cake has become my holiday-party staple and has only increased my love for Post Punk Kitchen (though I doubled the recipe, because on the margin, who doesn’t love more cake).

Before I became a vegan I loved baking. Cooking is an art, but baking is more of a science. I like to experiment and taste the recipes in the process–adding something here, omitting something there–but with baking there’s little room to improvise after you place it in the oven. Sometimes the requirement to follow directions can be relaxing. It’s like whatever happens is out of your control. I’ve been avoiding baking because of my fear of substitutions, but I’ve slowly realized how ridiculous that is–and this recipe is a prime example of that.

I usually don’t post two photos up top, but the first one is a bit misleading. I made it in a bundt pan because I thought it looked prettier, but I’ve had the best results in a loaf pan.

Chocolate-Pumpkin Cake

1/2 cup applesauce
1/4 cup coconut oil
2/3 cup cocoa powder
2/3 cup + 4 tablespoons boiling water, divided (I’m taking PPK’s word on this)
2 cups pumpkin puree
2 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1 1/2 tsps baking soda
1 1/2 tsps salt
1 cup chocolate chips (or more, I always err on the side of more)

3 loaf pans

Preheat the oven to 350 and spray 3 loaf pans.

I try to be as conscientious about packaging as I can, but I splurge on these apple sauce containers. I don’t often use apple sauce and this is the best way I’ve found to keep it fresh and keep it on hand.

Mix together the applesauce, coconut oil, and cocoa powder.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, spices, baking soda, and salt.

Measure out 2/3 cup boiling water and pour into the bowl with the chocolate mixture, mixing quickly to make a smooth chocolate sauce. Add pumpkin, sugar, and vanilla and mix well. Dump about half of the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture and gently stir, then measure out 2 tbs of boiling water and stir again. Now add the rest of the flour mixture and another 2 tbs of boiling water and stir just until smooth.

Then, my favorite part, add in the chocolate chips. Lots of them.

Spoon the batter into the loaf pans.

Bake for about an hour (do the classic knife/toothpick test to check for doneness). Keep in mind that there will be (hopefully lots of) chocolate chips that melted so you might get some of that on your knife/toothpick, but that’s fine.

When it’s done you should let it cool…

…but from experience, this tastes best when warm!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tofubelly permalink
    December 30, 2011 4:13 am

    Yum! That chocolate pumpkin cake looks moist and delicious! I’m definitely going to try this recipe out (: Thanks for posting!

  2. Rimone permalink
    January 1, 2012 5:15 am

    miriam this looks so yummy! i loveeee pumpkin things so def want to make this- or just come to israel NOW and cook with me!

Leave a Reply

