Skip to content

Simple Kale Salad with a Lemon-Miso Dressing

December 11, 2011

As a vegan, sometimes I feel like it’s my duty to love Kale–and I do–but it’s not always so easy to eat it raw. There are lots of kale chip-lovers, and I love to steam or saute the leafy green, but I couldn’t figure out a way to eat it in a simple salad. That all changed for me when I tried the kale tapa at Sacred Chow, the trick, it turns out, is to “massage”–yes massage–the marinade into the kale and let it sit for a bit. Over there, they are fans of a dijon dressing, but lately I’ve been partial to this lemon-miso one with a little harissa kick. Walnuts and radishes add a nice crunch.

Simple Kale Salad with a Lemon-Miso Dressing

Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup white miso
1 tbs harissa (or other mild hot sauce of your choosing)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 bunch kale
1/2 cup roasted walnuts (optional)
4 radishes, scrubbed and thinly sliced (optional)

Combine the lemon juice, white miso, harissa, and olive oil in a bowl and whisk together.

Now you just mix in your kale. (I’ve explained before–via Bon Apetit–how to cut the kale if you need a refresher.) It’s best to let it sit for at least 20 minutes, but will stay good for up to 2 days.

I also like to throw in some radishes and roasted walnuts.


See, that was simple enough!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 11:21 am

    Sacred Chow is where my mom learned to love kale as well. Kale salad is oh-so-yum! Welcome back to food blogging my dear! I miss (ed) you. Can you come back to DC? I think I may actually be moving there….Also, my mom would very much like your vegan challah recipe.

Leave a Reply

