Skip to content

Cooking Club May: Pomegranate and Pea Samosas

May 9, 2011

When a friend suggested we start a cooking club, how could I resist? Once a month we’ll be preparing the same recipe (each with our own adjustments) and sharing them with each other–I’ll be sharing them here as well so you can join in on the fun. First recipe up was my suggestion. I’ve been craving some Indian food and for me Indian food is synonymous with samosas. I’d been saving this recipe for over a month and now that I’ve made them I can’t believe I waited so long. I made a few adjustments right off the bat. First off, I baked the samosas instead of frying them. Second of all I decided to use spelt flour instead of white flour because lately I’ve grown rather fond of the former. It was part of the recipe, but I must say, the pomegranate seeds add a lively color that makes a delicious dish shine.

Pomegranate and Pea Somosas

For the Dough
2 cups spelt flour (you can use white flour instead), a bit extra for dusting
1/2 tsp ground tumeric
1 tbs Earth Balance Butter
1 cup water

For the Filling
1 russet potato
1 cup frozen peas, defrosted
2 tbs Earth Balance Butter
1 tbs ginger, peeled and finely chopped
3 jalapeno peppers, DESEEDED AND DERIBBED chopped finely (I’m a weakling so this was even a bit much for me, but adjust based on your tolerance/enjoyment of all things spicey)
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp ground tumeric
1 tsp ground coriander
Seeds from one pomegranate (Trader Joe’s sells the seeds on their own)
1 tbs chopped cilantro, plus a bit more for garnish
1 tsp canola oil, for brushing

Combine the flour, ground tumeric, Earth Balance, and water in a large bowl and mix together to form a stiff dough.

Divide the dough into 3 equal portions and roll into balls. Set aside (cover with a damp cloth if you’d like) as you prepare the filling.

Boil the potato for 20 minutes or until soft. I always have difficulty peeling potatoes after they’ve been cooked, but the best solution I’ve found is to use the back (dull end) of a knife. It comes off very easily.

Once it is peeled, chop the potato into small pieces (some prefer to mash them, but I like the wholeness of the pieces).

About now you’ll be dealing with the jalapenos. I’ve had some issues with them in the past (my cheeks still get a bit red when I think about it) so here are some quick thoughts in the form of photos.

Heat the Earth Balance in a frying pan. Add the ginger, jalapenos, cayenne pepper, and tumeric, coriander.

After a minute add in the potatoes and peas and stir fry for another 2 minutes.

Add the pomegranate seeds and cilantro and stir.

Preheat the oven to 350. Bring back the balls of dough and place on a lightly floured surface (I used a cutting board) and roll each ball into a thin round. Slice them in half to create two half moons.

Place a portion of the potato/pea/pomegranate filling in the middle of the half moon and fold the top over the bottom (if this makes no sense check picture below which will hopefully clarify). Make sure to press down firmly so it stays together, but be careful not to tear the dough in the process.

Repeat with the next five. Brush each one with a bit of canola oil and place in oven. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove and eat immediately with the chutney of your choice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 10:49 pm

    Can’t wait to make my batch!!

Leave a Reply

