Skip to content

Vegan Thanksgiving

November 25, 2010

One of my earliest Thanksgiving memories is cooking with my Baubie in her Fort Lee apartment while watching Gigi along with Laura and my Aunt Lesley. My Baubie doesn’t cook (as she’s so fond of telling me) but Thanksgiving was the one time of year that she did. I wasn’t a vegan at the time (I wasn’t even a vegetarian) so we went with the standard Thanksgiving fare. This year I hosted Thanksgiving. It was just me my parents and Laura, which made it a bit more relaxed, but it also allowed me to cook an entirely vegan Thanksgiving. My one rule: no “fake” Thanksgiving foods like tofurky. Better yet, nothing shaped like a turkey.

Full Menu:

Carrot Parsnip Soup

Yellow Beet Salad

Seitan Roulades

Cranberry Sauce

and the highlight (and inspiration for the meal) Pumpkin Stuffed Vegetable Stew from, where else, Gourmet.

Oh, Oatmeal Rasin Cookies for dessert (though Laura made those).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    November 29, 2010 3:27 pm

    For the record, I had tofurkey for Thanksgiving and it was not half bad!

Leave a Reply

