Skip to content

Tomato-Rice Soup with White Beans

October 18, 2010

During my senior year of college every Monday night two of my friends, Shifra and Tali, would join me in what we called “soup night.” While I clearly missed the company over the summer, I didn’t make too much soup. Now that fall is upon us, I decided I’d revive the tradition, and hope that the company might eventually join me as well.

For some reason I was never a big fan of tomato soup, it seemed like a cop-out soup, one that was just a base with no “content.” But this version was perfect for today’s weather and my sluggish mood. It’s easy to make and extra filling thanks to the beans.

Tomato-Rice Soup with White Beans

1 tbs olive oil
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium yellow onion, diced
1/2 cup long-grain brown rice
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 cup white beans (I went with cannellini beans, but you can use a different type)

Pour the olive oil in a soup pot over medium heat and sauté the onions and garlic for 7 minutes or until translucent.

Add the rice, thyme, salt, and pepper and cook stirring for about 2 minutes. Add the crushed tomatoes and fill the can with water and add the water as well. Bring to a boil and cover. Lower the heat to medium-low and simmer for about 45 minutes or until the rice is cooked.

In the meantime, sauté the white beans in a frying pan so that they’re just slightly browned on the outside. (I used Pam to spray the pan, but you can use a bit more olive oil.)

Combine the beans with the soup and serve immediately.

One Comment leave one →
  1. agoos permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:09 am

    brilliant idea: come up to visit me on a monday evening. make soup. eat soup. go home tuesday morning.

Leave a Reply

