Skip to content

Seitan Cutlets

October 12, 2010
tags:

There are some things that I never imagined could be made at home — things that only make sense to buy at the store where, you know, they’re made by professionals. But, ever since my internship at Gourmet last summer, I’ve become a bit more adventurous and ambitious with my cooking. Still, things like seitan just never entered into my mind. It comes in a nice package and seemed so foreign and complicated. Well, a quick google search shows that it’s really not that complicated at all.

Armed with Arrowhead Mills Vital Wheat Gluten I got to work. The recipe on the back of the box seemed a bit too dry for me (it just involved adding water) so I looked around and based my recipe off of one I found in Veganomicon.

Seitan Cutlets

Broth:

6 cups vegetable broth (I used store bought, but you can make your own)
3 tbs shoyu

Cutlets:

1 1/4 cups vital wheat gluten
1/2 cups vegetable broth
1/4 cup shoyu
1 tbs olive oil
3 garlic cloves pressed

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Prepare the broth by combining liquid in a pot and bringing to a boil. Turn off heat and keep covered.

Prepare the cutlets by pouring the vital wheat gluten into a mixing bowl. In a separate container, add the broth, shoyu, oil and garlic. Pour the wet mixture into the bowl with the vital wheat gluten and mix with a spoon.

When most of the moisture is absorbed, you can start to knead with your hands. The dough should be elastic.

Divide the dough into six equal pieces by rolling it into two logs and cutting the logs into three equal pieces.

Stretch each piece into a thin cutlet shape. This part is a bit difficult (my piece ended up a bit thicker than I would’ve liked) but if you put your body into it they should become pretty flat and thin.

Pour the heated broth into a glass baking pan and place the cutlets in the broth.

Bake uncovered for 60 minutes, stoping halfway to turn over the cutlets.

If using immediately, drain cutlets, if using later, store in the broth in a tightly sealed container.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. L B K permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:35 pm

    soooo jealous that you made these without me! Save me one and bring it on Wed night?

  2. Todd permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:21 pm

    I love seitan! I prefer it stir-fried, but I might just have to try this!

    • October 12, 2010 11:27 pm

      you can totally stir fry this seitan, in fact i plan on doing that tomorrow!

  3. Esther permalink
    October 12, 2010 6:28 pm

    Store-bought vegetable broth? I am appalled.

  4. January 5, 2011 12:40 pm

    What brand of vital wheat gluten did you buy? Can I buy all these ingredients at whole foods? I’m thinking about making seitan for Shabs this week.

    • January 5, 2011 6:45 pm

      Definitely. I’ve had the most success with arrowhead mills — so I’d recommend starting with them. I’ve also found that the more you season the dough BEFORE cooking it the better it will taste, regardless of how much you season it afterwards.

      • Sarah permalink
        January 5, 2011 10:43 pm

        Meaning I should be liberal with the shoyu or that I should add additional seasoning?

      • January 5, 2011 10:53 pm

        Be liberal with the shoyu — I’ve found that adding garlic in the early stages helps as well. Additional seasoning will help but is probably not as necessary.

Leave a Reply

