Skip to content

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

October 10, 2010

On lazy Sunday afternoons my sister Laura and I sometimes get the urge to bake cookies. Since I’ve gone vegan, we haven’t had the chance to experiment, but today we tried out an Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe. One of the rules I made for myself before cutting out eggs and dairy was that I wouldn’t use complicated chemical replacements. Most of the recipes we found required egg substitutes but thankfully this one didn’t. Normally I would’ve added nuts, but Laura doesn’t eat nuts, so I skipped them this time.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

3/4 cup vegan butter (I use Earth Balance — I know I said no substitutes, but I’m OK with the ingredients in this one… for now)
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup soy milk
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 cup raisins
3 cups oatmeal

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Mix together the sugar, brown sugar, vegan butter and vanilla extract. Add the soy milk and mix until combined.

Add the flour, baking soda, salt and spices, and stir until well mixed. Add the raisins and oatmeal. Batter will be very thick.

Drop by 3 inch balls onto cookie sheet and flatten slightly with a fork. (Laura and I like to do it once vertically and once horizontally to make a nice shape.) Bake for 15 minutes, or until done. Cookies will still be slightly soft and chewy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. L B K permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:28 pm

    delicious!! And I do think that if you like nuts they would have been a great addition to the recipe.

  2. SDF permalink
    November 27, 2010 5:37 pm

    Amazing taste and texture. Put aside any preconceived notions about oatmeal cookies. This cookie is a winner.

Leave a Reply

